Takeaways from CompTIA Breakaway

August 15, 2011 at 10:20 am | Posted in CompTIA, Vendor news | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

I had my first opportunity to attend CompTIA Breakaway 2011 earlier this month in Washington, D.C. I really wasn’t sure what to expect. I’ve attended Microsoft Tech*Ed many times, but I’ve never attended a CompTIA-sponsored event. I can honestly say that I had a great time learning about new technologies and certifications.

The conference included several training sessions that focused on cybersecurity, healthcare IT, cloud computing, and other areas. Most of the sessions centered around helping companies to implement different aspects of these technologies. If I had to criticize something (and other than the sweltering heat index in D.C. this month which wouldn’t be fare to blame on CompTIA, there really wasn’t much to complain about) it would be how hard I found it to select the best topics to attend because so many of them were scheduled at the same time. But I may have been the only one that found it hard to choose, because the Cloud Computing sessions had to be moved to a ballroom to accomodate all the people that showed up!

At the conference, CompTIA presented details regarding the Security Trustmark credential. For those of you not familiar with this program, CompTIA provided a wonderful blog post that may answer your questions: http://blog.comptia.org/2011/08/05/get-help-attaining-the-comptia-security-trustmark/

I also attended many of the CompTIA Education to Careers (E2C) sessions. Most of these sessions focused on how to best train students so that they can obtain the A+, Network+, and Security+ certifications. I met many new people and reacquainted myself with several others, including Mike Meyers, Dr. Mark Ciampa from Western Kentucky University, and Alan Rowland and Joe Padin from CompTIA. Those of you involved in the CompTIA certification program, either as a trainer or training provider, should make attending the E2C track a top priority. It gave me a really in-depth look inside the many innovative certification programs out there. It was also nice just to sit and talk with colleagues who love our products and use them to get certified!

I cannot wait until next year’s event, where I hope Transcender and Kaplan IT Learning can take a more active role in helping you! Watch for my upcoming posts on the changes in the CompTIA world for next year, including a new Network+ exam.

-Robin Abernathy

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

