Visit me at the Tech*Ed Hands-On Lab or Join me at MCT Day Zero

May 11, 2011 at 4:30 pm | Posted in Microsoft, Transcender news | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

In 2009, during Tech*Ed in Los Angeles, I helped Microsoft out in the Hands-on Lab area. If you’re unfamiliar with the concept, HOL is an area set up with workstations using virtual machines, loaded with labs to let you try out all the new and upcoming technologies. There are also MCTs, like myself, present to help if you have any questions about the labs.

The Hands-on Labs have proven to be one of the more popular destinations at Tech*Ed. Most of the sessions are very good, but let’s face it, at some point you don’t want to see any more PowerPoint presentations — you’re ready to actually get your hands dirty.  Well, you can do that in the Hands-on Labs — there are over 250 scheduled for next week.

Apparently all is now forgiven between Microsoft and myself concerning that little incident in L.A. with the erased hard drives (I swear I didn’t know that magnet was in my pocket!), because this year I’ll be back in the Hands-on Lab. Come by and say hello! I will have on the same T-shirt as all the other MCTs in that area, but just look for the shortest guy there and it’s likely to be me. (I used to be the shortest guy with the longest ponytail, but that’s one of the problems with having cut my hair off – I lost my most recognizable feature.)

Me minus the hippie hair

I’ll be proctoring for the 200-level and 300-level labs in the Security, Identity & Management lab track (filter here to pull 41 of the sessions and times). Here’s my schedule (as always, check for last-minute changes):

Sunday  3:00 PM to 6:00 PM

Monday 2:45  PM to 6:00  PM

Tuesday 4:45 PM to 8:00 PM

Wednesday 7:00  AM to 10:00  AM

Thursday 12:15  PM to 2:30 PM

Before Tech*Ed even starts, I’ll be kicking off my weekend on Saturday, May 14th, at the MCT Day Zero meetup at the Mariott Marquis. It’s a free (donations are suggested) mini-conference that will cover topics of interest to certified trainers, including the Microsoft Learning Quality and Roadmap for 2011-2012. Pre-registration ends tonight at midnight (Wednesday, May 11) if you’re interested.

As a reminder, Transcender will be exhibiting at Booth #1904, and we’ll be giving away puzzles, games, and a chance to win a $250 Amazon.com Gift Card (no purchase necessary). Something else I did in L.A. was participate in the Jam Sessions. I plan to issue a call for all Tech*head musicians to come out on Tuesday night and play some music. Stay tuned for details on that later this week!

–Troy McMillan

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

