Mo’ beta: 70-113 pilot period extended?

August 12, 2008 at 3:38 pm | Posted in Microsoft, Performance-Based Testing, Vendor news | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

I tried taking the 70-113 exam (TS: Windows® Server 2008 Active Directory, Configuring) last Thursday. It’s technically a pilot of the new performance-based testing (PBT) technology, not a beta exam per se. However, the testing center couldn’t get the exam to run, so I just drove there and back. You could say it was a beta of the pilot, with the actual pilot to follow.

The nice lady at Prometric told me that Microsoft has extended the 71-113 pilot testing period “through the end of September,” so I rescheduled. The posted end date is September 12. Important Disclaimer: I’m not an official representative of either company; I don’t know if this translates to more slots opening up for the test or if they’re just shuffling around the people who were already signed up. If this is something you want to take and you missed the original beta announcement, you might want to keep an eye peeled on Trika’s blog to see if they announce an extension.

[Note for those unfamiliar with American slang: mo’ betta means “more better.” This is more worser grammar so don’t repeat it on, say, a job application.]

[Note on the note. If, in LOLspeak, “pwned” is mo’ betta than “owned,” then would better than mo’ betta be written as…. no’ betta?]

-blogmistress Ann

ETA 9-12-08: Success! I contacted Microsoft directly a couple of weeks ago to report the test failures. And yesterday I got a call out of the blue from Prometric, asking me if I wanted to reschedule. So now I’m re-re-taking the 70-113 exam on September 19. Third time’s the charm.

From what I have seen on comment threads, the issue is not with the pilot product itself, but with the requirement that you connect to the Internet (where the virtual servers are) from within the Prometric network. Historically, exams have *not* allowed test-takers to go onto the Internet during an exam, so it makes sense that they’re still ironing out the kinks in that interface. (Again, not an official representative, not an official explanation, just a best guess.)

I’ll report on my actual experience when I return (victorious!) from the pilot.

ETA(2) 10-09-08: Pilot WAS extended! Information here: https://transcender.wordpress.com/2008/10/09/mo-beta-goes-global-70-113-pilot-period-extended-really-to-october-25-2008/.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

